what you'll get

Free sessions
Mental health is more important than ever—which is why these sessions are free right now
Effective strategies
Learn effective tools and strategies for common concerns from licensed therapists and mental health professionals
Privacy
You’ll have the option to be completely anonymous by using an alias or turning off your camera
Feeling together
You’ll be with other people who have concerns and experiences similar to yours

how it works

taking the first step is easy

01

Reserve a session
Find a topic and time that works for you. Each session is capped at 15 people, so don’t wait too long to book it.

02

Submit your questions
Prior to the session, you’ll receive a form where you can ask anonymous questions related to the session topic. The therapist will use these questions to guide the discussion.

03

Listen, learn and chat
During the session, the therapist will provide helpful strategies and tools, moderate a group discussion, and answer real-time questions.

what we’ll cover together

we’re here for you—with new sessions added every week

We’ll add new session topics and time slots based on what’s working for you. Here are the kinds of topics you can expect:
Trouble Sleeping
Difficulty motivating & focusing
Coping with coronavirus
Relationship questions
Managing anxiety
Mindfulness & meditation

what to look out for

upcoming support group sessions

Tuesdays, 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM PT // 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM ET
Thursdays, 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM PT // 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM ET

Healing Yourself: COVID-19 First Responders Session
Led by: Alexandre Cerf
Summary: This session is designed for coronavirus first responders and frontline healthcare workers. // Every day, you're helping heal our loved ones and communities—but it takes a toll on you. Grief comes in many shapes and sizes, from the larger losses felt in your work fighting the pandemic to smaller losses of normalcy in daily life. In this session, you'll explore how to identify the often unrecognized ways grief takes form and weighs on you, how this impacts our lives and relationships, and how you can work to overcome it.

Tuesdays, 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT // 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Thursdays, 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT // 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET

Feeling Tired? Let's Get Some Sleep
Led by: Jody Radtke
Summary: Imagine what it feels like to have a great night of sleep: We wake up feeling rested, rejuvenated, and ready to tackle the day. But when we don't get enough quality sleep, it can throw off our whole day at home and work. If you feel like this, you're not alone. Millions of American adults have trouble sleeping most nights. In this session, you'll discover common sleep challenges and proven methods to quiet your mind, fall asleep faster, and stay asleep longer.

Wednesdays, 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT // 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET

The Drama Triangle: A New Way to Work Through Conflict
Led by: Alexandre Cerf
Summary: Did you know we all play specific roles in relationships? We learn these patterns at a young age, and they can backfire later as we find ourselves stuck in relationships full of conflict—whether at home, at work, with friends, or with ourselves. In this session, you’ll learn how to identify your go-to relationship role, understand both what you get out of it and how it hurts you, and find new ways to approach your relationships. Get to better relationships by getting out of the drama triangle.

Tuesdays, 5:30 PM - 6:30 PM PT // 8:30 PM - 9:30 PM ET
Thursdays, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM PT // 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM ET

Parenting in the Age of Coronavirus
Led by: Stephanie Owen
Summary: Parenting is always hard. These days, many of us are also playing the role of substitute teacher, school principal, employee, coach, loving partner, and more. But trying to keep everything together and in balance as these lines have blurred can feel downright impossible. In this session, Stephanie will discuss strategies to set a productive day for your kids, manage the energy in your home, and how to be okay with not doing it all.

Tuesdays, 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM PT // 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM ET

Self-Compassion: Reframe How You Treat Yourself
Led by: Sally Scheidlinger
Summary: Negative self-talk can be pervasive and debilitating, especially during this time of social distancing and isolation. Even in quarantine, people seem to keep posting on social media about their productivity and motivation. This can lead to feelings of shame if you don't have the energy or emotional ability to do the same. These feelings then decrease motivation, causing a painful cycle. In this session, we'll discuss practicing self-compassion and the art of reworking your internal monologues to treat yourself in a gentler, more understanding manner.

Mondays, 12:15 PM - 1:15 PM PT // 3:15 PM - 4:15 PM ET

Introduction to Meditation
Led by: Ian Albert
Summary: Ever want to try meditation but don't know where to start? Join Ian, who's studied meditation for two decades, for a lively and interactive session on the essential practices of meditation. You’ll discuss mindfulness, breathing techniques for relaxation, and the methods and purposes of meditation—including how meditation can help with stress and anxiety.

Tuesdays, 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM PT // 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM ET

Intermediate Meditation: Deepen and Refine Your Patience
Led by: Ian Albert
Summary: Feel like you've already got the grasp of meditation basics? This workshop builds on the ideas from the Introduction to Meditation session. In this session, you'll have the opportunity to deepen your patience and understanding. Suitable for all levels, this series is a great way to relax, develop your mindfulness and stay connected. Ian will share new topics each week and lead several short guided exercises—so feel free to join more than once.

Mondays, 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM PT // 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM ET
Wednesdays, 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM PT // 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM ET

Fostering Resilience and Self Care
Therapist: Sara Skonieczny
Summary: When life knocks us down, it can feel hard to get back up and return to something that feels normal again. In this session, you'll learn tips to reframe how to think about things that are out of your control. You'll also hear about ways you can make sure to prioritize your wellbeing when it feels like things around you are spinning.

Thursdays, 2:30 PM - 3:30 PM PT // 5:30 PM - 6:30 PM ET

Cultivating Resilience During Quarantine
Therapist: Lindsay Kandra
Summary: Uncertainty in isolation is challenging. But it's an opportunity to develop the mental skills needed to grow and thrive when faced with life’s curveballs. Therapist Lindsay Kandra is no stranger to prolonged social distancing—it was part of her cancer treatment protocol ten years ago. She'll give the group guidance on turning lemons into lemonade during these stressful times and wants to hear about what has worked for you.

Thursdays, 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM PT // 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM ET
Fridays, 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT // 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET

Relationships in the Time of Coronavirus
Therapist: Diana Benjamin
Summary: The stress of coronavirus affects our relationships. From financial uncertainty to lack of personal space, couples are cooped up together—and may be starting to fray at the edges. Long-term issues are amplified, and new ones are bubbling up. Learn how to manage your relationship in this higher-pressure environment.

Wednesdays, 8:45 AM - 9:45 AM PT // 11:45 AM - 12:45 PM ET
Thursdays, 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM PT // 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM ET
Fridays, 2:30 PM - 3:30 PM PT // 5:30 PM - 6:30 PM ET

Mindfulness For Depression and Anxiety
Therapist: Lindsay Kandra
Summary: Cover the basics of using mindfulness practices to address depression and anxiety with therapist and yoga teacher Lindsay Kandra. This workshop will address the fundamentals of mindfulness for mental health: how it works, why it works, and how to pick a practice that works for you. We’ll close with a couple of simple guided practices that can be incorporated into your daily routine.

Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, 11:45 AM - 12:00 PM PT // 2:45 PM - 3:00 PM ET

Meditation and Relaxation Break
Led by: Ian Albert
Summary: When our day feels overwhelming, taking a moment to pause can help. Join Ian, who's studied meditation for two decades, for a 15-minute session of relaxing breathwork and guided mindfulness meditation to calm and stabilize your mind and nervous system.

Tuesdays, 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM PT // 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM ET
Wednesdays, 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM PT // 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM ET

Finding Your Focus and Motivation
Led by: Jody Radtke
Summary: Why is staying home so hard? Maybe it's kids running around, or maybe it's a thousand pings at work. We're distracted. We feel irritable. We're overwhelmed. And that's all normal. In this session, we'll explore what impacts our attention and how our mind and body work in response to heightened stress states. You'll also learn about tools to regain your center and clear your head.

Mondays, 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM PT // 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM ET
Fridays, 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM PT // 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM ET

Creating Control: Mental Health When Life is Uncertain
Led by: Rachel Pauker Fryd
Summary: COVID-19 has increased the uncertainty that we all face in so many ways. Many of us now worry about our jobs, our social life, and what "normal" life even is anymore. In this session, we'll discuss ways to create control when so many things feel uncontrollable. You'll learn about the way uncertainty affects mental health, how to realistically manage thinking about the future, and how to create safety in the here and now.

who’s leading the sessions

licensed therapists with proven methods

You’ll be hearing from experienced, licensed therapists and mental health professionals with proven methods who are experts in providing effective tools and strategies. Empathetic, friendly and professional, they’re trained to guide group discussion so that everyone gets the most of the session.

Jody Radtke

MA, LPC

Lindsay Kandra

LPC-Intern, QMHP

Sally Scheidlinger

LMSW

who should consider it

not sure if anonymous support groups are for you?

This is a different approach to online mental health, so we understand if you’re hesitant to try it. If it’s helpful, we find these types of people will benefit from it the most.
People totally new to therapy who want to get a feel for what it could be like and avoid expensive upfront commitments
People who have some experience with therapy, but want to feel connected to others with similar concerns and experiences
People who are feeling increased levels of stress as a result of world events and uncontrollable situations

why we’re doing this

Investing in our mental health is often put on the backburner, because it’s too expensive or too inconvenient. But with the COVID-19 global pandemic, stress and anxiety are becoming everyday issues for millions of us. Hims & Hers is committed to helping people deal with their stress and anxiety, which is why they’re now offering anonymous support groups. Our mission has always been to help people handle their hard-to-talk-about issues—and offering accessible mental health products from home is yet another example of that.

Dr. Patrick Carroll

Chief Medical Officer, Hims & Hers

741-741
If you're in emotional distress, text HOME to connect with a counselor immediately
911
If you're having a medical or mental health emergency, call 911 or go to your local ER

all the answers

frequently asked questions about anonymous support groups

What is group therapy?
What are support groups?
What is the method of therapy used in support groups?
How long are support group sessions?
How much do support group sessions cost?
How are support group sessions anonymous?
How is my privacy protected in online support groups?
Am I allowed to just listen and not talk?
Are these sessions gender-specific?
What happens if another group member is being disruptive or offensive?
Can you get free relationship advice?

more treatments to take care of yourself

you may also like

Mental Health

Individual Therapy

Mental Health

Psychiatry & Medication